THANKS

I can’t even imagine the hardships our troops endured during the great wars of 1 and 11 and their struggles to survive. Not putting down today’s modern military, but sleeping in a foxhole, or in the jungle with just an M-1 rifle and facing hand to hand combat is a lot different than being miles behind enemy lines while a missile is being launched hundreds of miles away toward the enemy.

Can you imagine jumping off a landing craft, jumping into the water to get to shore, and knowing your chances of landing on the beach amidst machine gun fire alive is slim to none? Or being a tail gunner in a slower moving bomber while facing enemy fire from aircraft; a sitting duck.

There are very few veterans remaining from these two wars; unfortunately many generations will never know their pain nor their pride in serving and giving all for their country.

To ALL who served our country, I give my utmost gratitude for your sacrifice and service. May God Bless you from a grateful country.

6 thoughts on “THANKS

  1. Frank, I know your intent is to extend your gratitude, and I can tell you, as a vet, the expressed heartfelt gratitude of a nation is uplifting, even emotional. However, to imply that war today is fought from a seat miles away is degrading to the many, many men and women who’ve given their lives in recent conflicts and to those who struggle with the effects years later. War today is no less up close and personal than in wars past. I spend a good deal of my time in the company of today’s war vets. Men and women who’ve spent much of the last decade dodging bullets and IED’s, many unsuccessfully. I can tell you, war is still hell.

    • Christ David, come on, you know me better than that. The post was a comparison. Apparently you didn’t read the last paragraph where I thanked all veterans. To think otherwise is insulting to my integrity and my loyalty to my country. I lost a brother as a result of Viet Nam. If you take time to find a vet of those two wars and listen to their battlefield stories you’d understand my pitch.
      What’s missing in my post is that the younger generation like yourself and younger, don’t have a clue of then and today in combat.

      • I understood your post and I tried to be as polite as possible. It was not a personal attack, I was in no way implying you were disingenuous with your gratitude and I certainly did not intend to insult you. I simply disagree with your premise that war today is somehow easier, or less tragic, than wars of the past. You will call it a generational gap of knowledge, and maybe you are right. But the implication that today we fight from miles away is simply incorrect.

      • Getting a little testy aren’t we, Frank? Your reference to the “younger generation” in your reply is disingenuous to say the least and that is coming from me, someone of your own age. I suspect that I have talked, at length, to as many or more WWII veterans as you, have including Dad and two uncles plus an old Marine friend of mine who served in WWII, Korea and Viet Nam and others who served in Europe and the Pacific theater. As Sherman said, “War is hell.”, any war qualifies for that definition. Also, I don’t know whether you were just being overly dramatic or what but your statement, “Can you imagine jumping off a landing craft into the water to get to shore knowing that your chance of landing on the beach amidst machine gun fire alive is slim to none.” if true would have meant we would have lost the war since very few would have made it ashore to fight on.

  2. Bob watch the History Channel sometime when they show live film of troops trying to land on the beach and the bodies floating in the water and lying on the beach; odds were against a soldier of landing alive. The losses on those islands were tremendous; no wasn’t dramatic just stating facts. Only pure guts and determination helped to overcome the Japanese and Germans from holding onto their posts. Both were greatly fortified, even when one landing on Normandy I believe, was successful, little did our troops know the enemy was lying low and opened fire when the Americans were in clear view. I stand by those two wars as the worse for our troops. No war is easy as you say, but war technology has greatly improved to protect the losses incurred in those two wars.

    • Have watched the live film of the Normandy landings many times and they are gruesome. But the odds were not against a soldier landing alive. There were 156,000 Allied troops involved in the D-
      Day landings. Casualties were US 6603 (1465 killed), UK 2700 (number killed not available) and Canada 1074 (359 killed). Still too many casualties but less than the Allies had forecast and the odds were not against a soldier landing alive. I do appreciate your salute to World War veterans but believe you went too far in trying to compare them with veterans of other wars, e.g. Marines in Korean War not even mentioned by you.

Leave a Reply

